Donate | VOM Resources

Malaysia: Compressed Rice Recipe

Many Malaysians eat rice every day. Some fix “compressed rice.” Here is one way to prepare it.

Cook 2 cups of white rice and ½ teaspoon of salt in 6 cups of water until the rice is soft. Mash the rice with a large spoon. Spread the rice in a rectangular container, such as an 8- by 12-inch cake pan. Put another rectangular container, a little smaller than the first one, on top of the rice. Weight the top container down with 5-pound hand weights, heavy books, or food cans. Cover any exposed rice with aluminum foil. Chill overnight in the refrigerator. Cut the rice into squares and serve with a favorite sauce or topping.

To serve with a Malaysian topping, use this peanut sauce recipe. Combine 1 cup of creamy peanut butter, one 14-ounce can of coconut milk, 1 1/2 tablespoons of lemon juice, 1/4 cup of soy sauce, 1/4 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, and 1/4 teaspoon of chili sauce. Mix until smooth.





Kuala Lumpur, where the Parliament meets, is the capital of Malaysia. (The Parliament is the group of officials who are responsible for making the laws.) Government offices moved to Putrajaya in 1999. Putrajaya is the “federal administrative center.”

Malaysia has two regions, West Malaysia and East Malaysia. The total area of both regions is a little greater than the area of New Mexico. Source: CIA Factbook

Main Languages
Malay, English, Chinese

At 6 a.m. U.S. Central Standard Time, it is 8 p.m. in Malaysia.

Interesting Fact
Malaysians love kites. Some people use giant kites as decorations in their home.


Britain used to control Malaysia. In 1957, Malaysia became an independent nation. It included only the part of Malaysia that is on the Malaysian Peninsula. The states of Sarawak, Sabah, and Singapore joined the 11 states on the peninsula to form the Independent Federation of Malaysia in 1963. The new country’s 14 stripes and 14-pointed star stood for the 14 states.

In 1965, Singapore became a separate country. The 14 stripes and the star now stand for the 13 states and the capital, Kuala Lumpur.

About half the people in Malaysia are Malay people. The government considers all Malays to be Muslims from birth. Other groups in Malaysia include people whose ancestors came from China and India, as well as native tribal groups. People who are not Malay are allowed to follow religions other than Islam. (Islam is the religion of Muslims.)

Changing to another religion is strongly discouraged.  It is against the law for anyone to share the truth of Jesus with a Malay person.