Donate | VOM Resources

Time Zones, China, and Uygurs

Uygur children
Uygur children

At 6 a.m. U.S. Central Time, it is 8 p.m. in China. This week, people in the U.S. will set their clocks one hour ahead for Daylight Saving Time. So at 7 a.m. U.S. Central Time, it will be 8 p.m. in China. China does not observe Daylight Saving Time.

China covers enough territory to have many time zones. But the government wants everyone to officially use Beijing time. In Kashgar, a city in western China, the sun can rise after 10 a.m. in the winter, according to Beijing time. Sunset can be after 10 p.m. in the summer.

Uygurs are a people group in northwest China. They have different ancestors than the Han Chinese people who are the main people group in China. Most Uygurs are Muslims, and most Han Chinese are not.

Sometimes Uygurs and Han Chinese people do not get along. Some Uygurs even use their own time system instead of following Beijing time.

But more Uygurs and Han Chinese are becoming brothers and sisters in Christ. However, government officials in China are often suspicious of Muslims or Christians who take their faith seriously. Sometimes workers have to hide their faith if they want to keep their jobs.

Read about a Uygur who is in prison here and read updates at www.prisoneralert.com.

Learn more about Chinese Christians and Uygur Christians in Bold Believers in China and Bold Believers Among China’s Uygurs in the Downloads section.


Tags:



Comment

Are you a registered user? Log in to your account before leaving a reply.
Commenting on Kids of Courage does not require registration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *