Donate | VOM Resources





Kuala Lumpur, where the Parliament meets, is the capital of Malaysia. (The Parliament is the group of officials who are responsible for making the laws.) Government offices moved to Putrajaya in 1999. Putrajaya is the “federal administrative center.”

Malaysia has two regions, West Malaysia and East Malaysia. The total area of both regions is a little greater than the area of New Mexico. Source: CIA Factbook

Main Languages
Malay, English, Chinese

At 6 a.m. U.S. Central Standard Time, it is 8 p.m. in Malaysia.

Interesting Fact
Malaysians love kites. Some people use giant kites as decorations in their home.


Britain used to control Malaysia. In 1957, Malaysia became an independent nation. It included only the part of Malaysia that is on the Malaysian Peninsula. The states of Sarawak, Sabah, and Singapore joined the 11 states on the peninsula to form the Independent Federation of Malaysia in 1963. The new country’s 14 stripes and 14-pointed star stood for the 14 states.

In 1965, Singapore became a separate country. The 14 stripes and the star now stand for the 13 states and the capital, Kuala Lumpur.

About half the people in Malaysia are Malay people. The government considers all Malays to be Muslims from birth. Other groups in Malaysia include people whose ancestors came from China and India, as well as native tribal groups. People who are not Malay are allowed to follow religions other than Islam. (Islam is the religion of Muslims.)

Changing to another religion is strongly discouraged.  It is against the law for anyone to share the truth of Jesus with a Malay person.